Fastpass+ – What No One Is Saying – Part 1

When I’m at Disney in the parks, sometimes when my magic band or my fast passes don’t work, I look into my fiance or friends faces and casually say “1 billion”.

It usually makes us laugh as we remember that Disney recently spend a literal billion plus researching, designing and implementing My Disney Experience, which has given us magic bands and fastpass+ along with an entire web identity.

This blog lives in a world where I’ll just assume you’re bringing me along to photograph and guide your vacation, and if you’re not.. please pop over to my website DisneyByStephenie.com. So if you’re not a local, look away because after reading this, you will decide to move to Florida, or you will hire me to photograph and guide a day or two of your vacation.

So, to my locals, What is with all the complaining!? As a Walt Disney World Annual Passholder, you have it the BEST out of everyone. Don’t worry. I’ll explain.

If you believe twitter and some of the Disney Bloggers, My Magic Plus and Fast Pass Plus are the worst things to happen to Walt Disney World. And for vacationers that may have some truth, but for us locals?? It’s perfect.

I’m writing this at 12:57 on March 31st, 2015. It’s spring break. But… maybe I want to pop over to MK this afternoon. With the old system, I have to wait to get in the park and walk up to Space Mountain to realize that all the FPs are gone and I’ll have to queue it.

But today? LOOK AT ALL THE THINGS AVAILABLE!

2015-03-31 13.01.31 2015-03-31 13.01.06 2015-03-31 13.01.11 2015-03-31 13.01.15 2015-03-31 13.01.22 2015-03-31 13.01.26

I have my pick of the park! So what used to be a stressful journey of “we won’t be able to ride anything unless we get there at rope drop” can turn into an evening of Space Mountain, Big Thunder Mountain and Splash Mountain. During spring break! I could even meet Anna and Elsa if I want!

As they have rolled out FP+ over the last 2 years, I have sat quietly and watched and gone into the parks about once a week. I spent a few days at Disneyland, and guess what? Though Disneyland is a small park I sure got tired running around JUST to collect fast passes! I kept saying, if ONLY there was an electronic system that could reserve my spot in line!! I couldn’t believe I missed my magic band!

Now, I’ll be upfront and say, Disney has never compensated me to say this, It’s my own opinion. And you’ll realize that when I write part 2  because for vacationers, it’s not quite that easy.

But seriously! No one is saying how awesome it is to be a passholder!! And for the #casualguest it really is.

As a passholder, what do you dislike about MM+? Am I in the minority here?

This entry was posted in Fastpass+ and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

